It has been a while..

Hola!

It has been a while since my last post. I stopped writing as I realized there’s no one reading but now I realize that I should not write a blog post for anyone else except for myself; to record memories. Well, hopefully this current mindset lasts.

Nevertheless, for the past few months, I have accomplished some feats I never thought would be possible. I’ll list them down:

Graduated

Well, this one is not really that surprising; I know the time will come eventually. Anyhow, I have now gotten that valuable piece of paper that I’ve been working for for 5 years. Some of the words that I want to highlight as they make me proud of myself are:

  1. Bachelors of Science in Engineering,
  2. Electrical Engineering,
  3. College of Engineering, and
  4. awarded.

I feel lucky to be given the chance to study at the United States of America, despite the fact that my university is not one of those top, and well-known universities.

Job

This still make my mind blown to this day.: getting a job at Intel Technology Sdn. Bhd. in Bayan Lepas, Penang before I even graduated. Technically, it is just an internship but I have a chance (small chance but it’s still something) to be converted to a permanent team member and officially be an engineer.

Despite being not my special area of expertise at all, I still manage to join the debugging team and be called a trainee of Failure Analysis Engineer. I have grown a positive feeling for my job and my team, especially. It love the laid back and really nice team environment and my job is kinda interesting, but very stressful. Despite that, I really, really, really hope I will be converted to permanent soon! Amin!

Scuba

This one I am super excited about. I am officially a certified open water scuba diver! I never thought this would be possible as I suck at swimming and is (or should I say was?) afraid of water deeper than my chin level. I am also asthmatic so technically, I should not be diving for my own life. But I overcame every single obstacle and my first dives were at Pearl Lake, Il, USA, where I also got certified! Exciting times!

I look forward to using my license by November but I do not have any dive buddy(ies). Well, another challenge for me to overcome!

Skydiving

I went skydiving in Oakland, California! Thanks to Fatin, who offered to pay for my first, and definitely won’t be last, skydiving experience! Of course, I paid her back! It was not cheap at all. I think I was the only one not scared. I have a video but what I said was pretty embarrassing; I couldn’t collect my thoughts together! Maybe I’ll show someone the video someday.

Travel and explore

Remember that West Coast Trip I wrote about? Yeah, that happened and that was the most amazing and memorable trip ever! Covered thousands of miles (maybe) in the span of two weeks! Went to LA, SF via Highway 1, Yosemite National Park (my favorite place on Earth!), Salt Lake City, Zion National Park (good time!), Horseshoe bend in Arizona, Antelope Canyon, Grand Canyon National Park (meh), Las Vegas, and back to LA! Crazy times!

The most memorable moments were probably when we tried to sleep in 20 degree weather. I should mention that it was 20 degree below zero! And another one was when we hiked to the top of Angel’s Landing right before sunset then got lost in the freaking dark. Fun times!

I, and of course my friends, took tonnes of photos and I’ll update this post with a link to that Google Drive folder!

Backcountry backpacking

Took a spring break class to go backpacking! Went to several campsites in Utah and one in Colorado National Monument.T

he main event happened in Needles District in Canyonlands National Park! Completely off grid! Drank filtered water that we think is safe enough to drink, shat in a hole in the ground twice, shat in a poop bag, cooked vegetarian meals which I never thought would be possible, read map, carried more than 50 lbs on my back, walked in the mild heat, slept in the crazy cold in the tent, afraid of the desert bears, and the list goes on!

I took around a thousand photos, and I’ll link it as well, next time!

Family visitation to USA

Mama and my brother came to visit me for my graduation ceremony. I took Mama and koko to Chicago then koko went back as he had to work. Then I took mama to San Francisco, then we drove to Yosemite (I told you it’s my favorite place!) and of course, Pearl Lake for my scuba certification.

I was so rude the whole time but she still looked happy. Went to see Mirror Lake and two waterfalls. To this day, she still talk about it, which makes me happy.

I also have to mention that I drove with an expired license most of the times!

That’s all I can think of happened for the past few months! I’ll cherish these memories forever.

Thanks!

-faris

Leave a comment